What Nobody Tells You About Friendships in Sobriety

What happened to my friendships when I got sober?

Navigating friendships and finding people to support you in sobriety can be one of the most challenging parts of getting sober.

How did my friendships change when I ditched the drink?

I lost people and it hurt.

I have long, complicated, painful, and layered stories of friendships that are now over. There are stories left unwritten. In truth, I still don’t have a full understanding of the endings or what could have been done differently. I am not sure if there’s anyone to blame. I’ve tried blaming myself and I’ve tried blaming them too.

Endings are sometimes necessary, even when they break your heart.

I’ve had changes in friendships with people that I love and I always will. I have disconnected with people who have a shared history with me and hold my deepest secrets. There are friends from childhood, who I have drifted from, and these relationships can never be replaced.

Some of my friendships hold misunderstandings, limitations, and defenses. There is pain and protection on all sides. Nobody is right and nobody is wrong, and yet everyone is hurt by it. I have…

--

--

Heather Lowe Award Winning Sober Coach

FREE SOBER SECRETS GUIDE www.ditchedthedrink.com Certified Recovery and Life Coach, BSW, PHR, Certified Facilitator of Addiction Awareness, SheRecovers Coach